Blue Diamond Celebration Honorees

Join us for an elegant evening of dinner, drinks, auctions and more. Your support ensures future generations can continue to receive the same high quality care and exceptional range of services you expect from us. Services that you and your own family or friends may have benefitted from, such as bereavement counseling and children’s bereavement camps, art and music therapy, pediatric care and Moments to Remember, among others.  These programs are only possible because of the philanthropic support we have received over the years from generous friends like you.  During our celebration, there will be a special presentation on our bereavement services, which have been deeply meaningful to so many families in our community.

About the Honorees

Keith A. Ashmus - Dame Cicely Saunders Blue Diamond Award

With similar vision and spirit of mission as the founder of the modern hospice movement, Keith Ashmus has been an exemplary advocate for hospice for more than 40 years. In 1982, Keith gained national recognition for his tireless efforts on behalf of seriously ill patients.  Keith continues to be an active and beloved volunteer, and we are proud to present him with the Dame Cicely Saunders Blue Diamond Award.  

The Elisabeth Severance Prentiss Foundation - Blue Diamond Philanthropy Award

The Elisabeth Severance Prentiss Foundation has made an indelible impact on healthcare in Cleveland.  At every milestone, the Foundation generously supported Hospice of the Western Reserve’s  mission and vision, making it possible for HWR to provide a home-away-from-home, and compassionate end-of-life care and healing grief support for so many in our community.  We are honored to present the Elisabeth Severance Prentiss Foundation with the Blue Diamond Philanthropy Award.

Blue Diamond Celebration Committee

Keith Ashmus • Bridget Assing Marok • H. Clark Harvey • William Herzberger
Rachel Martinez-Finn • George Milbourn • Laura Navin • Kathy Pender • Laura Potter-Sadowski • Mark Ross • David Simpson • Dr. Charles Wellman

Hospice of the Western Reserve Board of Directors

Victoria Varley, Chair • William A. Herzberger, Vice Chair
Daniel J. DeMonica, Treasurer • Laura K. Navin, Secretary
Alfred F. Connors, Jr., MD, Chair Emeritus
Michael K. Baach • Richard A. Barone • Cynthia Sue Burke • Rev. Neroy Carter Janice M. Eva • H. Clark Harvey, Jr. • Michael H. Jacobson • Mitzi Kerr, RN, BSN Virginia Mlack Mooney • Mary L. Ogrinc • K. Kay Potetz, Ph.D. • Mark D. Ribbins James W. Rogerson • Mark D. Ross • Mark L. Schroeder • William Springer, CPM William H. Stigelman, Jr., Pharm.D.

Honorary Board Members

Duane E. Collins • William H. Goff • Marina B. Grant • James L. Hambrick • Sarah P. Robertson • Constance Sallee • Kate Scovil • Rev. William Spangler

Purchase tickets to the Blue Diamond Celebration here.

Sponsorship Opportunities Available 

We Can Help

Speak with the referral team by contacting us seven days a week, 24 hours a day. Any first visit and admission can be made the first day.

Northern Ohio's Hospice of Choice

More than 1,000 Hospice of the Western Reserve employees and 3,000 volunteers live and work side-by-side in the same neighborhoods with our patients and families. We are privileged to have cared for more than 100,000 Northern Ohioans since our inception.